- who are we?


- membership


- meeting reports


- BPS definition and diagnosis

- Hunner lesion  
- disease activity and damage  
- video's of cystoscopies  

- new


- treatment

- diagnostic criteria  
- Hunner lesion  

- associated diseases

- confusable diseases  

- selected topics & books

- symptom score questionnaires  

- reports from other sources


- calendar


- useful links


- support organizations


- disclaimer

ESSIC: who are we ?    

ESSIC uses the name bladder pain syndrome (BPS) instead of interstitial cystitis (IC) and/or painful bladder syndrome (PBS):
click here
for more details.



ESSIC was founded in Copenhagen in 2004 as an initiative of Jørgen Nordling, professor of Urology at Herlev University Copenhagen. The name European Society for the Study of Interstitial Cystitis was chosen,with ESSIC as an acronym. In 2008 ESSIC published new criteria for the diagnosis of interstitial cystitis and proposed for several reasons to use the name Bladder Pain Syndrome for the disease. ESSIC was successful and felt the need to extend the scope of the society from European into international and accept members from all over the world. In 2010 ESSIC changed its name into International Society for the Study of Bladder Pain Syndrome but decided to continue to use the short name ESSIC.

ESSIC (International Society for the Study of BPS) is a non-profit organization for professionals.
Its members are scientists and/or medical practitioners from all over the world with an interest in research into and/or treatment of bladder pain syndrome (BPS). 
For details on ESSIC membership, click here.

ESSIC’s primary objectives are:

  1. to promote and support the study of and research into BPS in the widest sense of the word

  2. to provide a forum for the professional scientific communication among individuals and groups involved in study and research related to BPS, including the organization of meetings and conferences to exchange research results, experiences and ideas on BPS

  3. to establish steering groups for committees to conduct studies on epidemiology, aetiology, treatment and other areas of BPS

  4. to establish a database on BPS patients to promote insight into different aspects of BPS

The by-laws (see the pdf file) were adopted on 3 June 2004 in Copenhagen and changed on 21 May 2010 in Antwerp.

Jean-Jacques Wyndaele, President (Antwerp, Belgium)
Mauro Cervigni, Vice President (Rome, Italy)
Jørgen Nordling, treasurer, (Copenhagen, Denmark)

Philip Hanno, (Philadelphia, USA)
Magnus Fall, (Göteborg, Sweden)
Rajesh Taneja, (New Delhi, India)
Tomohiro Ueda, (Kyoto, Japan)
Andrew Zaitcev, (Moscow, Russia)




  © 2004-2018 ESSIC - International Society for the Study of Bladder Pain Syndrome